在攀登科学高峰的路途上,何氏三姐妹在各自的研究领域都书写了自己杰出的人生故事。

  何家长女何怡贞跨入了物理学的领域,尽管在二十世纪上半叶,中国学习先进科学技术的机会非常有限,况且,这个国家在那个年代正经历着持续的动荡和战乱。然而,何怡贞很幸运地到美国去留学,并获得博士学位,成为中国现代最早的物理学女博士之一。

  次女何泽慧去柏林学习兵工弹道专业。最小的女儿何泽瑛,先在东吴大学学习植物学,然后成为南京中山植物园的学者。

  在随之发生的战乱中,何氏三姐妹分散在不同的国家,险峻的高山、干渴的沙漠和无边的海洋都没有这场战争来得可怕。在正常通信系统中断的情况下,她们彼此之间,和父母之间如何取得联系?当来自敌对国的消息被严格封锁,她们渴望着能得到来自亲人的消息。

  在这几年,三姐妹和因为战争而天各一方的所有家庭一样,内心承受着巨大的痛苦。一个月过去了,又一个月过去了,迟迟接收不到亲人的来信,也听不到任何有关亲人的消息。她们所能听到的,是收音机里每天报道的轰炸、屠杀和血腥。

  在这段漫长的黑暗的战争岁月中,只有25个字的通信能让三姐妹聊以自慰,虽然简短,但是起码能让她们彼此之间得到沟通,这些信件通过红十字在瑞士日内瓦的总部送往她们手中。

  在这异常艰难的信息传递中,“25个字”、“红十字”和“日内瓦”成为三个关键词。

  众所周知,在亨利·杜南的倡议下,红十字会于1863年在日内瓦成立。1859年6月24日,杜南亲眼看到了索尔弗利诺那场可怕的战役,四万多受伤的士兵在战场上奄奄一息直至死亡,他将自己的经历写成《索尔弗利诺回忆录》这本书,在当时引起巨大的反响。在书中,杜南描述了他所看到的苦难,并提议建立一个救助机构,使用民间的公益资源。

  这就是红十字会与红新月运动的起源,现在已经扩展到186个国家。杜南还劝说政府通过公约来保护战场上受伤的士兵,以及那些需要提供援助的人们,正是这些努力促使《日内瓦公约》和现代国际人道主义法的形成。

  然而,在《索尔弗利诺回忆录》中,杜南强调不仅仅要照顾那些受伤士兵身体上的伤害,同时还要缓解因为分离、关押、死亡而造成的精神上的痛苦。“噢,先生,求你帮我写封信给我爸爸,让他安慰我的妈妈。”这是一个年轻人的临终遗言,他是独子。

  就在那一天,播下了一颗伟大的种子。

  1867年,第一届红十字国际委员会(ICRC)在巴黎召开,阐述了关于确认死亡和严重受伤士兵身份的问题。它建议分配给每个士兵一个金属标签,刻上他们的名字和相关信息。这个方法一直延续到今天——所有的士兵都会在他们的脖子上挂一个识别身份的标签。

  当正常的邮路不能畅通时,那些深陷战火的士兵们,仍然需要一个渠道与家人传递消息,这个提议由1869年在柏林的第二届ICRC大会上提出,这次会议确定了一个任务,就是要在战争期间的中立国家和地区创立一个信息服务机构。

  “在战争冲突时期,国际委员会应该选择一个合适的地点,确保能够建立一个联络和信息办公室,这个地点应该尽可能有利于信件的交换和救援物资的发出。”这标志着中央寻人局的建立,这个机构在二战期间由ICRC日内瓦总部负责运行。

  没有各国红十字会和ICRC代表处的合作,中央寻人局的工作将是盲目和毫无头绪的,当邮路不再畅通,各国红十字会和ICRC代表处将收集的家庭信件寄到日内瓦的中央寻人局,然后,这些信件被分类送往各个国家的红十字会,再由他们送到收信人手中,而回信则要写在通信表格的背面。

  正常来说,如果不事先审核信件内容的话,各交战国不会容许与敌对国家的信件自由交换。所以,信件要经过发出国和接收国审查机构的双重审查,同时要求信件的字数不能超过25个字,而且只能严格限于个人或家庭的信息。

  这样一来,我们就可以重现当时何泽慧在柏林给她在美国的姐姐何怡贞寄信的过程:何泽慧将信件寄往德国红十字会,德国红十字会把它交给德国审查机构审查,然后信件又被寄回德国红十字会,德国红十字会再将其寄往ICRC在日内瓦的代理处,由代理处寄往华盛顿的美国红十字会,然后信件交与美国审查机构审查,然后再寄回美国红十字会,最后才经由美国红十字会寄给在加利福尼亚州伯克利市的何怡贞。相反地,回信的传输也会经过同样的程序。

  尽管信件到达收信人手中需要几个月的时间,但每一封信件的到达都是一个奇迹——港口被轰炸,船只被潜艇袭击,城市被摧毁,人民因为战争而被迫背井离乡。因此,在战争中能够得到这样的信息确实是一个奇迹。比如说:“我们很好。父母很好。他们很健康。姐生了个小孩。想念你们!”

  《25个字》这本书经过研究探索,描绘这些通信在上海、柏林和伯克利之间奇迹般的传递,通过本书,可以知道三姐妹对这些承载沉重历史的家庭信件是如何视若珍宝,并妥善保存至今的故事。

  二战期间,一共有两千四百万平民信件经由ICRC在日内瓦的中央寻人局传递,它们穿越战火被送往目的地,这些信件由许许多多不同的语言写成,要经过字迹辨认、地址修正之后,才能送往收件人手中,两千四百万个奇迹就发生在这短短的25个字之间。

  感谢刘深先生能够在这段灰暗的历史中带给我们一个不平凡的,充满奇迹的故事。在本书以及同名电影中,刘深先生勾勒出了何氏家族的生活,描述了她们战时信件的交换以及战后珍藏这些信件的往事。

  如今,红十字会信件的传递与二战期间具有同样重要的意义。2009年,二十五万封家庭信件被收集,并分送到那些因为武装冲突和自然灾害而离散的家庭成员手中。现今,除了在二战期间发挥作用的传统信件外,电子通信系统也被普遍使用,但是它们的目的都是一样的,就是要为家庭成员之间重新建立起联系的纽带,为他们带去慰藉,缓解他们因为分离和对家人的担忧所造成的精神上的痛苦,而这种痛苦一点也不亚于因为战火所造成的生理上的累累伤痕。


                国际人道法与人道行动独立顾问
                弗朗西斯·比尼翁
                2011年1月6日

  •  《25个字》封面

PREFACE

The three He sisters led remarkable lives well before each of them attained the summits of scientific research in China, each in her respective field.

The eldest, Yizhen He, went into physics. Opportunities for advanced studies in China were very limited in the first half of the twentieth century. In addition, the country was experiencing a period of constant unrest. She had the good fortune of being able to study in the United States, however, where she became the first Chinese woman to earn a PhD in physics.

Next in line was, Zehui He, who went to Berlin to study physics.

The youngest, Zeying He, studied botany at the University of Dongwu and then worked at the Nanjing Botanical Garden.

But soon war and occupation separated the three sisters by barriers that were much more formidable than the steepest mountains, the most parched deserts and the widest oceans. How could they stay in touch with each other and with their parents at a time when the postal service and telephone lines were cut? How could they receive news from loved ones when all contact with enemy territory was strictly prohibited?

For several long years, the three sisters shared the anguish of all families divided by war; month after month with no message, no news, coupled with daily radio reports of bombings, massacres and bloodshed.

The sisters' only respite from the interminable darkness of war was the occasional chance to exchange news at least between themselves, thanks to the 25-word messages delivered by the Red Cross via Geneva, Switzerland.

- Why 25 words?

- Why the Red Cross?

- Why Geneva?

It is common knowledge that the Red Cross was founded in 1863 on the initiative of Geneva citizen Henry Dunant. On 24 June 1859, Dunant had witnessed the grizzly spectacle of some 40,000 wounded soldiers left to die on the battlefield following the terrible Battle of Solferino. He published his account of this experience in a small book – A Memory of Solferino – which had an immediate impact. In it, Dunant described the suffering he had seen and then proposed the setting up of relief societies that would use the resources of private charity. This is the origin of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement which is now present in 186 countries. Dunant also urged governments to adopt a treaty to protect the wounded on the battlefield together with those who help them. Out of this effort came the Geneva Conventions and contemporary international humanitarian law.

The Red Cross was thus founded to help wounded soldiers. In A Memory of Solferino, however, Dunant stressed the need not only to treat physical wounds caused by weapons, but also to relieve the emotional suffering resulting from separation, captivity or the prospect of death: “Oh, Sir, if only you could write to my father to comfort my mother,” said young Corporal Mazuet of Lyons, their only son, as he lay dying.

That day a seed was sown.

The First International Conference of the Red Cross, meeting in Paris in 1867, addressed the question of identifying soldiers killed or seriously wounded in combat. It recommended that soldiers be issued a metal disk engraved with their name and other relevant information. This practice continues to this day -- all soldiers are supposed to wear identification tags around their necks.

But when postal services were not functioning, a channel was still needed to convey this information to the families of soldiers fallen in combat. This issue was addressed by the Second International Conference of the Red Cross, held in Berlin in 1869, which assigned the International Committee of the Red Cross the task of creating an information agency in neutral territory in the event of war.

“In time of war, the International Committee shall ensure that a liaison and information office is set up in a suitably chosen location, which shall facilitate, in every possible way, the exchange of communications and the sending of relief supplies.”

This marked the start of the Central Tracing Agency, which would be run by the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) in Geneva during the two world wars.

The agency would of course have been blind and deaf without cooperation from the National Red Cross Societies and the ICRC delegations around the world. When postal services ceased functioning, the National Societies and the delegations collected family messages and sent them to the central office in Geneva. There, the messages were sorted and forwarded to the National Societies of the destination countries, which delivered them to their recipients. Responses followed the reverse course.

Naturally, no warring country would tolerate the free exchange of messages with an enemy country without first checking the content. The messages therefore had to be vetted by the censorship office of both the country of origin and the destination country. These offices were inevitably overwhelmed with work. This led to the requirement that messages not exceed 25 words and comprise exclusively personal or family news.

We can thus reconstruct the path of a message sent by Zehui He in Berlin to her sister Yizhen in the United States: Zehui He gave her message to the German Red Cross, which forwarded it to the German censors, who checked it and then gave it back to the German Red Cross, which sent it to the ICRC agency in Geneva, which sent it to the American Red Cross in Washington, which gave it to the American censors, who checked it and gave it back to the American Red Cross, which delivered it to Yizhen He in Berkeley, California. The reply would follow each of these steps in the reverse order.

Even if it took months on end to arrive, each message that reached its destination was a miracle – what with ports being bombed, ships attacked by submarines, cities destroyed, and people uprooted by the war.

And a miracle indeed to be able to read, in the midst of war, messages such as: “We are well. Our parents are well. They are in good health. Your sister has had a baby girl. We think about you constantly!”

25 Words explores this miracle of the messages passed between Nanjing, Berlin and Berkeley, and meticulously preserved by the three sisters like family jewels heavy with history.

More than 24 million messages from civilians were delivered during the Second World War across front lines via the ICRC’s Central Tracing Agency in Geneva. These 24 million messages were written in dozens of different languages and had to be deciphered and then re-addressed before they could reach their intended recipients.

Twenty-four million miracles. In 25 words.

We have Liu Shen to thank for bringing this marvel out of the shadows of history. In this book and in a film, Liu Shen sketches the lives of the three He sisters and the messages they exchanged during the war and meticulously preserved when the hostilities ended.

Red Cross messages are as relevant today as they were during the Second World War. In 2009, 250,000 family messages were collected and distributed to dispersed family members affected by armed conflict or natural disaster. These days, electronic systems are commonly used besides the paper messages used in the Second World War, but the goal remains the same: to restore contact between family members. For the sense of isolation and the uncertainty about the welfare of loved ones inflicts emotional wounds no less painful than those caused by fire and iron.

François Bugnion
Independent consultant in humanitarian law and humanitarian action

  •   BOOK COVER